Skip to main content Skip to footer
Owls Place 11 on 2017 Phil Steele All-C-USA Postseason Football Squads
Dec. 13, 2017

BOCA RATON, Fla. – The Florida Atlantic University football team picked up further postseason accolades on Wednesday, with 11 Owls named to Phil Steele’s All-Conference USA Teams, and six earning First Team honors.

As FAU prepares for next Tuesday’s Boca Raton Bowl versus Akron, they received the most Phil Steele selections since joining C-USA. In the previous four years, six earned honors following the 2016 season, seven in 2015, four in 2014 and nine in 2013.

FAU’s six First Teamers Wednesday were sophomore running back “Motor” Devin Singletary, offensive linemen Antonyo Woods (redshirt senior) and Reggie Bain (redshirt junior), junior linebacker Azeez Al-Shaair and two junior defensive backs, Jalen Young and Shelton Lewis. The squad earned twice as many First Team selections as any other C-USA team, while Marshall and Old Dominion next at three apiece.

Three more Owls were named to the Second Team – sophomore tight end Harrison Bryant and senior offensive lineman Roman Fernandez, along with sophomore linebacker Rashad Smith – while wrapping up the nods, on the Third Team, were redshirt junior defensive lineman Hunter Snyder and redshirt sophomore Kerrith Whyte, Jr., at kick returner.



FAU and Akron will battle in the Boca Raton Bowl, presented by Cheribundi Tart Cherry, next Tuesday, Dec. 19, at 7 p.m. For tickets, call 1-866-FAU-OWLS.

College Sports Live

Connect with Us



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago