Skip to main content Skip to footer
Cory Henry and D'Joun Smith Earn All-C-USA
Cory Henry

Dec. 10, 2013

BOCA RATON, Fla. - Florida Atlantic University's football players Cory Henry and D'Joun Smith earned spots on the Conference USA all-conference first team.

The duo is the first to be named to a C-USA football team and they were joined by Andrae Kirk and Sean Kelly, who were named to the second team.

Henry, a senior, completed his four-year FAU career atop C-USA in sacks with seven. He also used the time to become the program's all-time career sacks leader. In 2013, the Owls tallied 32 sacks while the team averaged just one per game a year ago. On Dec. 6, Henry was named the Shula Bowl Player of the Game.

Smith, a junior, set the tone early with seven total tackles and a pass break-up in the season opener at Miami. He was the squad's defensive game ball winner after his efforts versus Middle Tennessee and New Mexico State but it may be his efforts in the Tulane game that he became most known for with three interceptions, as well as providing the jumpstart that FAU needed to begin its four-game win streak. Smith led the nation for two weeks in total interceptions and concluded the regular season ranked No. 2 nationally in interceptions and No. 3 nationally in passes defended. Smith ended the year with 35 tackles, two for a loss, a sack, seven interceptions and two forced fumbles. He garnered Conference Defensive Player of the Week honors twice, won the Jim Thorpe Defensive Back of the Week honors and was named FAU's 2013 MVP.

Andrae Kirk, a junior, earned the team's Defensive MVP award last Friday to go along with his second team C-USA selection. He ended 2013 with a team leading 84 tackles. The linebacker was all over the field in 2013 recording totals in nearly every statistical category. He had three games with double-digit tackles (Middle Tennessee, at Auburn and Tulane). He had a sack at Rice and tackles for loss versus New Mexico State and FIU. Kirk recovered a fumble at East Carolina and had an interception versus Miami. He had a quarterback hurry and a pass break-up versus FIU.



Sophomore Sean Kelly finished 2013 as the league No. 2 punter in average yards. The recipient of FAU's Special Team MVP honor was the only player to record a punt in 2013 and finished the season ranked second in the conference and No. 35 nationally while the team ranked first in C-USA in net punting and No. 45 nationally. Kelly averaged 42.7 yards per punt. He was a three-time FAU game ball winner and was publicly praised by opposing coaches for his ability to flip the field. His longest punt of the season was a 64-yarder versus FIU. He added a 63-yarder at Rice, 62-yard boots at Miami and USF and a 61-yard punt at Auburn. On the year he had 19 punts of 50+ yards, 21 fair caught and more than a third (36 percent) were downed inside the 20, placing him among the nation's leaders.

Honorable mention offensive members included Jaquez Johnson, Mustafa Johnson, Braden Lyons, Nexon Dorvilus, William Dukes and Daniel McKinney. Defensively, Brandin Bryant, Adarius Glanton, Christian Milstead and Damian Parms earned a spot.

College Sports Live

Connect with Us



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago