Skip to main content Skip to footer
Mickey Groody Named to the Ray Guy Watch List
Mickey Groody punts away in the program's inaugural on-campus game.

Nov. 2, 2011

BOCA RATON, FL - Florida Atlantic University's Mickey Groody has been named to the Ray Guy Watch List. Groody's inclusion marks the second season he has been considered for the most prestigious honor awarded to a collegiate punter.

Groody is one of 54 punters nominated for the award. The list of 54 will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists on Friday, November 11 and to three finalists on Monday, November 21.

Groody averages 42.5 yards per punt which ranks the senior from Pompano Beach at No. 2 in overall punts among Sun Belt Conference members. While in league games only, he averages 43.3 yards per punt, which is tops in the league.

Nationally, Groody is tied for No. 34. As a junior, Groody and the Owls were ranked No. 17 nationally in net punt returns with an average of 45.17 allowing opponents just 6.37 yards per punt return. Also on the watch list is Drew Butler of Georgia, the 2009 Ray Guy Award winner and the 2010 finalist.

Listed Alphabetically
Bryan Anger - California
Ben Armer - Western Michigan
Will Atterberry - North Texas
Trey Barrow - Missouri
Tyler Bennett - Utah State
Peter Boehme - Southern Mississippi
Dylan Breeding - Arkansas
Ben Buchanan - Ohio State
Drew Butler - Georgia
Ian Campbell - UTEP
Tyler Campbell - Ole Miss
Steven Clark - Auburn
Bobby Cowan - Idaho
Ryan Doerr - Kansas State
Ron Doherty - Kansas
Kyle Dugandzic - Arizona
Anthony Fera - Penn State
Will Goggans - Troy
Mickey Groody - Florida Atlantic
Eric Guthrie - Iowa
Johnny Hekker - Oregon State
Tom Hornsey - Memphis
Jimmy Howell - Virginia
Josh Hubner - Arizona State
Jay Karutz - Eastern Michigan
Anson Kelton - TCU
Alex King - Duke
Pete Kontodiakos - Colorado State
Scott Kovanda - Ball State
Chase Lansford - UNLV
Richie Leone - Houston
Jeff Locke - UCLA
Brett Maher - Nebraska
Kyle Martens - Rice
Austin McCoy - Wyoming
Brandon McManus - Temple
Kyle Negrete - USC
Brad Nortman - Wisconsin
Pat O'Donnell - Cincinnati
Shawn Powell - Florida State
Ryan Quigley - Boston College
Jackson Rice - Oregon
Matt Rinehart - Kent State
Brian Schmiedebusch - Bowling Green
Quinn Sharp - Oklahoma State
Brian Stahovich - San Diego State
Riley Stephenson - BYU
Ryan Tydlacka - Kentucky
Kirby Van Der Kamp - Iowa State
Cole Wagner - Connecticut
Cody Webster - Purdue
Kase Whitehead - Marshall
Brad Wing - LSU
Dawson Zimmerman - Clemson



College Sports Live

Connect with Us



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago