Skip to main content Skip to footer
Athletics to host Football Signing Day Extravaganza
Join Coach Partridge at the Signing Day Extravaganza

Jan. 17, 2014


Florida Atlantic University's Department of Athletics will host a "Signing Day Extravaganza" Wednesday, Feb. 5 in the FAU Stadium Acura Club from 6-9 p.m. The event is open to the public with an advance cost of $50. Tickets also will be available the night of the event, as long as seats are available, at a cost of $75.

The night will mark the 15th football signing class for the Owls and the first for newly hired Head Coach Charlie Partridge. Fans will have the opportunity to meet Coach Partridge and his staff, watch videos of the newest members of the Owl football team as well as hear Coach Partridge's assessment and details of the recruiting process. Light food and refreshments will be served.

National signing day signifies the end of a process that that began for the recruits the day they started playing football and for many of the coaches it has been several years of correspondence and the exchange of game film. National Signing Day is the biggest day in many of the recruits' lives and it also signifies the beginning of their FAU journey.

Since the football program's inception in 2000, FAU has brought in student-athletes of high caliber on the field and in the classroom. The 2000 class, the program's first, introduced FAU to the likes of Jared Allen, Yrvins Guirrier and Ramon Rickards, the foundation builders. In 2005, the program welcomed Rusty Smith, FAU's first NFL draftee, Jason Harmon. Rob Housler, a current member of the Arizona Cardinals, joined the Owls in 2006 as did Michael Lockley. Just months' prior to the Owls earning their first conference championship and playing in their first bowl game Alfred Morris, a rushing leader for the Washington Redskins, and Lestar Jean, of the Houston Texans, joined the program. Morris would redshirt in 2007 but participated in 2008 at the Motor City Bowl. The 2009 class brought recent graduate and first-team Conference USA member, Cory Henry to the Owls as well as David Hinds, who recently signed with the Tennessee Titans, to FAU.



William Dukes, who will lead the 2014 FAU receiving corps, and All-Conference USA honoree D'Joun Smith who concluded his junior campaign No. 3 in interceptions and No. 2 in pass breakups were members of the 2011 class. Brandin Bryant, who could break Cory Henry's sack record, signed in 2012 while Jaquez Johnson, who was the nation's 8th leading rushing quarterback and Jay Warren signed in February of 2013 and quickly contributed to the 2013 season which was the first season FAU was eligible for a bowl game since 2008.

For more information or to reserve your seat call (561) 297-4652.

College Sports Live

Connect with Us



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago