Skip to main content Skip to footer
Men's Basketball Holds Inaugural Year-End Banquet

May 1, 2011

BOCA RATON, FL - The Florida Atlantic men's basketball team capped off a historic season with its first annual banquet, held at Anthony's Coal Fired Pizza in Delray Beach.

Head Coach Mike Jarvis addressed the crowd of approximately 100 people, running down the list of accomplishments that the team has achieved over the course of the season, both individually and collectively.

That was followed by an audio package of the season's highlights, courtesy of Ken LaVicka. The team was then given watches commemorating their reaching the postseason NIT. Coach Jarvis then capped off the evening by handing the team awards.

Brett Royster took home the Defensive Player of the Year Award, Jordan McCoy was named the Most Improved Award, while Justin Davis took home the Scholar-Athlete Award. Junior Alex Tucker's contributions off the bench were recognized as he earned the Sixth Man of the Year Award, Dennis Mavin won the Newcomer of the Year. The Unsung Hero award went to Greg Gantt. Head manager Diego Torres' efforts were rewarded as he got the Pastor Dave Nicholas Spirit Award. Last but not least, Raymond Taylor was named team MVP.

FAU will return four starters when it defends its Sun Belt Championship during the 2011-12 season.



College Sports Live

Connect with Us



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago