Skip to main content Skip to footer
Jarvis Named Sun Belt Coach of the Year

March 3, 2011

BOCA RATON, FL - Florida Atlantic head men's basketball coach Mike Jarvis was named Sun Belt Coach of the Year, the conference announced Thursday.

The announcement was made in advance of the Sun Belt tournament, which begins on Saturday in Hot Springs, AR. Jarvis has led the Owls to their first 20-win season at the Division I level and has already clinched just the second postseason tournament appearance in school history.

After winning just six games in his first season, FAU improved by eight wins last season and has already improved by seven wins this season. The current 21-win total ties for the most in school history.

FAU players also earned recognition as Raymond Taylor was named to the Sun Belt First Team. Taylor scored a team high 14.3 points, pulled down 3.6 rebounds and dished out 3.7 assists in conference play. He was named Sun Belt Player of the Week on December 21, the first time an FAU player earned the award in nearly three years. Sophomore Greg Gantt was named to the All-Sun Belt Second Team. Gantt is leading the team in scoring for the second season in a row at 14 points per game. He was named Sun Belt Player of the Week after averaging 17 points in wins over North Texas and FIU. Gantt is already among program leaders in career three-pointers made and points scored.

Brett Royster was named Sun Belt Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season and also made the All-Sun Belt Third Team. Royster is the fourth two-time winner of the award and the first since Western Kentucky's Chris Wells won in in 2003 and 2004. The senior forward broke the Sun Belt's all-time shot block record earlier this season and broke his own school record for blocks in a single season. He is averaging 9.4 points and 6.8 rebounds in Sun Belt play and scored the game winning basket in FAU's victory over rival FIU on Feb. 5.



The Owls earned a bye at the Sun Belt Conference tournament and will play the winner of Saturday's first round game between Troy and North Texas in the quarter finals on Sunday at 7:45 p.m. eastern. Live audio will be available at Live video will be streamed at

First Team All-Sun Belt Conference
Solomon Bozeman (UALR, Senior, G)
Raymond Taylor (Florida Atlantic, Sophomore, G)
Tristan Thompson (North Texas, Senior, G)
Sergio Kerusch (WKU, Senior, F)
Steffphon Pettigrew (WKU, Senior, F)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference
Martavius Adams (Arkansas State, Junior, G)
Chase Hallam (Denver, Sophomore, G)
Greg Gantt (Florida Atlantic, Sophomore, G)
J.J. Thomas (Louisiana-Lafayette, Freshman, F)
James Washington (Middle Tennessee, Senior, G)

Third Team All-Sun Belt Conference
Donald Boone (Arkansas State, Senior, G)
Brett Royster (Florida Atlantic, Senior, F)
Travis Bureau (Louisiana-Lafayette, Senior, F)
Augustine Rubit (South Alabama, R-Freshman, C)
Will Weathers (Troy, Sophomore, G)

Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year
Solomon Bozeman (UALR, Senior, G)

Sun Belt Conference Defensive Player of the Year
Brett Royster (Florida Atlantic, Senior, F)

Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year
Augustine Rubit (South Alabama, R-Freshman, C)

The Joe Gottfried Coach of the Year
Mike Jarvis, Florida Atlantic

College Sports Live

Connect with Us



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago