Skip to main content Skip to footer
Webb, Monroe Honored by Conference

Feb. 28, 2006

MACON, GA - Forward Rodney Webb and low-post mate Carlos Monroe have been recognized by the coaches of the Atlantic Sun Conference for their efforts on the basketball court.

Webb, a senior from Long Beach, Calif., earned 2005-06 First Team All-Conference honors following a season in which he averaged 15.7 points per game, a team-best 7.7 rebounds and shot 53.6% from the field. He led the team in points (16.6), field goal percentage (56.3%) and blocks (18) in conference play.

Webb is one of three players in the A-Sun to rank in the top 10 in scoring and also in the top five in rebounding, joined by Maurice Latham of Campbell on the First Team and Alain Laroche of North Florida, a Second Team honoree. Webb outranked both Latham and Laroche in field goal percentage.

Webb recorded nine double-doubles on the year, third most in the A-Sun. He scored in double figures in 26 of 27 games and led the team in minutes played.

Webb earned A-Sun Player of the Week honors on Feb. 20 after averaging 27.0 points and 9.0 rebounds per game and shooting 83.3% from the field in two victories. He scored a career high and Florida Atlantic season-high 30 points in a 93-87 win over East Tennessee State on Feb. 16.

Webb, a graduate of Bellflower (Calif.) High School, is one of four captains on the team. He has made 46 starts in two years with the Owls.

Monroe tabbed All-Freshmen
Monroe is one of five players named to the All-Freshmen Team. The Philadelphia, Pa. native and Cape Coral (Fla.) High graduate averaged 11.6 points and 4.8 rebounds per game and hit on 54.9% of his field goal attempts.

Monroe did not see his first action until Jan. 7 against Mercer but made plenty of noise in his debut, scoring 10 points and grabbing four rebounds in the first 5:47 of his college career. Just days earlier, his high school transcripts had been cleared by the NCAA, opening the door to a memorable first year.

Monroe came back on Jan. 9 against Stetson in his second collegiate game to record career highs for points (21) and rebounds (9). In conference games he ranks 28th in the A-Sun in scoring, good for fourth among freshmen.

"I am very happy that the league recognized the efforts of Rodney and Carlos," stated head coach Matt Doherty. "They have done a tremendous job for us this year and are certainly worthy of these honors.

"Rodney's consistent efforts scoring and rebounding were terrific and Carlos gave us a big lift when the NCAA finally cleared him to play. His rebounding, scoring and ability to pass elevated our team's play considerably.

"I would like to add that I was disappointed to see that DeAndre (Rice) was not included on the First or Second All-Conference teams. I believe his contributions to a team that finished third deserve to be recognized."

Rice averaged a team-best 16.2 points per game and finished second on the team in assists and steals.

Webb is just the fourth Owl to receive First Team recognition since Florida Atlantic became a member of the conference in 1995-96, joining Dammon Arnette (1998-99), Raheim Brown (2001-02) and Mike Bell (2004-05). Webb and Bell, the conference Player of the Year last season, are the first back-to-back honorees for FAU on the A-Sun's First Team.

Monroe gives the Owls two consecutive All-Freshmen award winners as well. Guard Ty McTyer earned the recognition from the A-Sun one year ago.

Webb and Monroe played integral roles in Florida Atlantic's 14-6 A-Sun record, the best in program history. The Owls (15-12 overall) were 11-5 with Monroe in the line-up and finished third in the conference, one game behind co-champions Lipscomb and Belmont.

The Owls earned the third seed for the conference tournament and will face Stetson on Thursday, Mar. 2 at approximately 9:15 p.m. in the quarterfinals at East Tennessee State University in Johnson City, Tenn.

Individual Awards
Player of the Year: Tim Smith, ETSU
Coach of the Year: Scott Sanderson, Lipscomb
Freshman of the Year: Andre Morgan, Kennesaw State
Defensive Player of the Year: Tim Jennings, Gardner-Webb

First Team All-Atlantic Sun
F Eddie Ard - Lipscomb (SO)
C Simon Conn - Gardner-Webb (SR)
G Brian Fisk - Lipscomb (JR)
F Maurice Latham - Campbell (SR)
G Tim Smith - ETSU (SR)
F Rodney Webb - Florida Atlantic (SR)
Due to a tie in the voting, six players appear on the First Team.

Second Team All-Atlantic Sun
F Brian Bender - Gardner-Webb (SR)
G E.J. Gordon - Stetson (SR)
G Justin Hare - Belmont (SO)
C Boomer Herndon - Belmont (JR)
F Alain Laroche - North Florida (SR)

Atlantic Sun All-Freshmen
F Marcus Allen - Jacksonville
F Carlos Monroe - Florida Atlantic
G Andre Morgan - Kennesaw State
G Courtney Pigram - ETSU
G Andy Wicke - Belmont



College Sports Live

Connect with Us



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago