Skip to main content Skip to footer
Kevin Alexander Wins 2012 Baseball Iron Owl Award
Junior Kevin Alexander won the 2012 Iron Owl Award to become the fourth different winner in the event's five-year history

Jan. 3, 2013

Boca Raton, FL - Junior pitcher Kevin Alexander went wire-to-wire and posted three event victories to win the Florida Atlantic University baseball program's 2012 Baseball Iron Owl Award.

This annual fall competition identifies the strongest Owls' baseball player, both mentally and physically. Twelve events test each player's physical strength, knowledge of the game and academic performance.

Alexander seized early control of the 2012 competition with victories in the first three events -- 880-meter race, quiz and a parking garage run. The Coral Springs native finished with 412.7 points and becomes the fourth different Iron Owl winner in the five-year history of the award.

"Kevin worked extremely hard this fall and wanted to be this year's Iron Owl champion," said John McCormack, FAU's head baseball coach. "He was able to rise to the occasion for 12 straight weeks. I am proud of the way he attacked each event and really competed."

Senior pitcher Gregg Bennis finished second with 355 points after taking first-place honors in the batting practice setup event. Junior outfielder Geoff Jimenez tallied 341.8 points, while senior pitcher Michael Sylvestri (339.6) and freshman infielder Cain Spangler (331.6) rounded out the top-five finishers.

Past Iron Owl winners are Lou Morey (2008 and 2009), Alex Hudak (2010) and Ahmed Garcia (2011).



Alexander will be publicly recognized prior to the 2013 season opener against the University of Cincinnati on Friday, February 15 at 6:30 p.m. at the FAU Baseball Stadium, 777 Glades Road on the Boca Raton campus.
College Sports Live

Connect with Us



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago