Skip to main content Skip to footer
Cross-Country Finishes Season at Atlantic Sun Championships
Greg Burke ran his second best 8k time of the year for the Owls.

Greg Burke ran his second best 8k time of the year for the Owls.

Nov. 2, 2002

Complete Results

Troy, AL - The men's and women's cross country teams of Florida Atlantic University finished off a strong season with seventh and ninth place finishes in the 2002 Atlantic Sun Championships. Both teams had three runners finish in the top 50.

"Overall, we had a very strong season. The biggest thing with the freshmen is that you never know how they are going to respond to the pressures of being in a conference championship," said head coach Alex Smolka. "I am very proud of how we ran today and again, on the whole season we did a great job overall."

Junior Greg Burke led the men's team running his second best time of the year in the 8k race with a time of 27:36 to place 27th, his fifth top-30 finish of the season. Sophomore Brian Mulvaney ran a time of 28:25.24 to place 32nd, while freshman Adam Cortes ran his third best 8k time of the year, 28:40.79 to place 39th.

Junior Claudia Beitel finished with a time of 19:54.60 to place 19th, her fifth top 20 finish on the year. Freshman Kathryn Murnane's time of 20:14.34 was good enough to place 32nd, her seventh top 50 finish, and three-time Runner-of-the-Week Raynell Hagberg finished 43rd, her fifth top-50 finish, with a time of 20:48.71.

The men finish the season with six top seven finishes, including two second place finishes. The women end the season with seven top-eight finishes, including wins at the Palm Beach Atlantic Invitational and Invitational.

Belmont University won both the men and women's competition with Samford placing second in both races as well. Georgia State, Troy State and Central Florida round out the top five for the men, while Central Florida, Georgia State and Gardner-Webb finish out the top five for the women.



Other notable times for the men's team: #51 Lee Beckman, 29:11.11 #60 Daniel Goldsmith, 2947.29 #67 Kristian Krayer, 30:21.64 #68 Kendrick Riberio, 30:55.92 #74 Jesse Chafin, 31:42.52

Other notable times for the women's team: #58 Colleen Newton, 21:32.55 #77 Andrea Rassi, 23:60.15 #80 Erin Mayros, 23:20.83 #85 Helenor Wilson, 24:19.72 #89 Antoinette Foster, 26:33.30

College Sports Live