Skip to main content Skip to footer
Cox Earns Diver of the Year on Final Day of C-USA Championships

March 2, 2014

Complete Results

ATLANTA, GA- Florida Atlantic University concluded the 2014 Conference USA Swimming and Diving Championships on Saturday with Greg Cox earning his second victory in the men's platform dive with a final score of 269. The junior's accomplishments in the championships earned him C-USA's 2014 men's diver of the year. FAU's diving coach Michelle Davison-Sandelin also received conference honors being named men's diving coach of the year.

Cox advanced from a second-place finish in the platform dive preliminaries with a score of 241.85. Tyler Aycock followed Cox finishing second in the finals with a score of 263.85. Devon Neilson recorded a final score of 256.20 for fourth. For the women's platform diving events, Morgan Wankling's score of 228.55 was good for second place. Cox also competed in the one meter dive, recording a second-place finish in the finals with a score of 300.10. The junior finished the preliminaries in second-place on Wednesday, March 26 with a score of 296.05. Aycock finished third with a score of 265.00 followed by Ryan McIntire in fourth-place with a score of 252.95.

The day was also highlighted by Agi Bucz and Matthieu Burtez recording their second NCAA "B" cut times. In the women's 100 yard freestyle, Bucz finished second in 49.78. Frida Nilsson was the next finisher hitting the pad 11th in 50.91. Burtez competed in the men's 100 yard free finishing in 43.92 for second-place. John Nolte came in 11th in 45.76 followed by John Walsh 12th in 45.85.

In the women's1650 yard freestyle Abbey King finished sixth clocking in at 16:44.60 while Rich Andrews finished the men's event 11th in 16:20.84. For the women's 200 yard backstroke, Iwona Lefanowicz finished in sixth place with a final time of 2:00.78 after finishing the preliminaries in 2:00.30. In the men's 200 back, Alen Dervisevic finished ninth in 1:53.59 followed by Tucker Lewis tenth in 1:56.84.

Anett Kovacs competed in the women's 200 yard butterfly finishing in 1:59.36 for second-place. Daniel Sugishita finished 11th in the men's 200 free with a final time of 1:52.00 followed by Austin Olivares 12th in 1:52.94. FAU's women's 400 yard freestyle relay team finished seventh in 3:27.75. The team included Agi Bucz, Frida Nilsson, Katie Dodge and Anett Kovacs. To finish the day, the men's 400 relay team finished third in 3:00.14. The men's team included Matthieu Burtez, John Nolte, Torbjorn Persson and John Walsh.

FAU's women's team finished seventh overall with a score of 438.5, while the men's team finished fourth with a score of 782.5.



College Sports Live

Connect with Us



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago