Skip to main content Skip to footer
Men’s Swimming & Diving Take Fourth at CCSA Championships
Feb. 18, 2017

Photo Gallery 1  |  Photo Gallery 2  |  Photo Gallery 3  |  Photo Gallery 4  |  Photo Gallery 5  |  Photo Gallery 6  |  Photo Gallery 7 


Complete Meet Results Get Acrobat Reader

The Florida Atlantic University men’s swimming and diving team finished in fourth place with six medals after four days of competition at the 2017 Coastal Collegiate Sports Association (CCSA) Swimming & Diving Championships. FAU Diving Coach Yaidel Gamboa was honored as the Men’s Diving Coach of the Year while Ryan McIntire earned the title of Most Outstanding Male Diver of the Championship.

On Deck with Coach Preacco

“A fantastic job this weekend from our men’s team,” said Head Swim and Dive Coach Lara Preacco. “They showed great drive and determination, which enabled us to improve from last year, climb in the final standings and get FAU swimming and diving very close to the podium. Great job from Ryan (McIntire) and (Yaidel) Gamboa who received Men’s Diver of the Meet and Coach of the Year. I can’t wait until next year’s conference championship.”

Making A Splash


  • The men ended the CCSA Championships on the podium as Connor Smoak, Cole Wisecarver, John Brennock and John Nolte earned a third-place finish in the 400 free relay (2:59.42).
  • Miles Miller won the platform exhibition with a new FAU record score of 326.75.
  • In the 200-yard backstroke championship final, Alex Taber was FAU’s top finisher coming in sixth with a lifetime best time of 1:48.87. Christian Pineiro followed with an eighth-place finish (1:52.41). Calvin Lillo competed in the “B” final and swam a 1:51.47, which was good for 11th.
  • The trio of John Nolte, Cole Wisecarver and John Brennock represented the Owls in the 100-yard freestyle coming in fifth, sixth and seventh, respectively. Nolte’s time of 44.96 was a career best for the senior while Wisecarver posted a 45.54 and Brennock swam a 45.65. Connor Smoak took 16th (46.34) in the “B” final while Kozak broke his lifetime best time in the “C” final (46.73).
  • The 200-yard breaststroke was up next, and the Owls’ Marco Leo claimed second in the “B” race followed by Phillip Crouch III in fourth. Their personal best times of 2:04.07 and 2:04.97 were good for 10th and 12th in the event overall.
  • In the last solo event of the meet, the 200-yard butterfly, Michael Rahrig swam to a sixth-place finish (1:51.15) with Connor Hodges right behind him in seventh (1:52.56). Sean Arrington, Aaron Spence and Matthew Menendez took part in the “C” final with Menendez posting a career best (1:56.04). Arrington came in at 1:53.79, and Spence had a time of 1:55.29.
  • Matthew Menendez finished 10th in the 1650-yard freestyle with a new personal best time (16:23.72). Shawn String took 13th overall in 16:32.20.
  • FAU finished with a final score of 1093. Finishing first was University of Maryland Baltimore County (1522) followed by Gardner-Webb (1216.5) and Incarnate Word (1207) in third.


  • The Owls had two swimmers advance to the 200 back championship final as Taber and Pineiro finished sixth and eighth in the prelims with personal best times of 1:49.16 and 1:50.01, respectively. Lillo will compete in the “B” final after posting a lifetime best of 1:51.05.
  • Nolte, Brennock and Wisecarver bring their talents to the 100 free “A” final after all placing in the top eight in the morning race. Nolte came in fifth in 45.00, which is a new career high, while Brennock and Wisecarver also had personal best times of 45.24 and 45.33. Smoak is the Owls’ representative in the “B” final (46.13) and Kozak is FAU’s competitor in the “C” final with a personal best time of 46.84.
  • Leo tied for ninth in the 200 breast prelims beating his lifetime best time by more than five seconds (2:04.34). He will swim alongside Crouch in the “B” final (2:05.58).
  • Both swimming personal best times, Rahrig (1:50.39) and Hodges (1:51.23) will take part in the 200 fly championship race. The trio of Arrington (1:53.85), Spence (1:55.08) and Menendez (1:57.06) moved on to the 200 fly “C” final with the first two earning best times during the morning trial.

Honors & Awards

Below is a list of honors and awards that the men received while competing at the 2017 CCSA Swimming & Diving Championships.

  • Yaidel Gamboa, 2017 CCSA Diving Coach of the Year
  • Ryan McIntire, 2017 CCSA Most Outstanding Male Diver of the Championship; All-Conference First Team: 1-meter dive, 3-meter dive
  • John Nolte, All-Conference Third Team: 100-yard butterfly, 400-yard medley relay, 400-yard freestyle relay
  • John Brennock, All-Conference Third Team: 100-yard backstroke, 400-yard medley relay, 400-yard freestyle relay
  • Cole Wisecarver, All-Conference Third Team: 400-yard medley relay and 400-yard freestyle relay
  • Phillip Crouch III, All-Conference Third Team: 400-yard medley relay
  • Connor Smoak, All-Conference Third Team: 400-yard freestyle relay

Up Next

The women are on deck as they head to Atlanta for the 2017 Conference USA Swimming & Diving Championships on Feb. 22-25. ESPN3 will be streaming the event live, and live results can be found HERE. Live updates will also be available throughout the meet by following the team on Twitter and Instagram (fauswimdive).



College Sports Live

Connect with Us



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago