Skip to main content Skip to footer
Athletics Set to Induct Four into Athletic Hall of Fame

From left to right: Steve LeBrun, Valene Harris, Martina Schmidt and Todd Moser

Event Photos

Oct. 21, 2008

BOCA RATON, FL - Florida Atlantic University has announced it will induct Valene Harris, Steve LeBrun, Todd Moser and Martina Schmidt into the Athletic Department's Hall of Fame. The four members comprise the third class for the Athletic Hall of Fame which originated in 2006.

The class will participate in the University's homecoming ceremonies on Friday, November 7 and then will be recognized once again at the FAU football game versus North Texas on Saturday, November 8.

"We are proud to be able to induct these fine former students into our Hall of Fame," said Craig Angelos, FAU's athletic director. "They clearly distinguish themselves while competing at FAU and helped to create a solid foundation for this athletic program."

Valene Harris came to came to FAU as a junior transfer and was in the first class of second-year Women's Basketball Head Coach Wayne Allen in 1988. Harris, a team MVP, made an immediate impact in women's basketball leading the Owls to a 21-8 season in 1988-89 earning Kodak All-District V honors and the program's first NCAA postseason appearance. During Harris' senior year in 1989-90, the Owls posted a 22-7 mark and returned to the NCAA Tournament. In just two years, Harris tallied 1,176 points averaging 20.3 a game, and became the first male or female to score 1,000 points for FAU basketball and have her game jersey (No. 25) retired. Harris is currently listed among the career leaders in points scored in a season, points scored in a career, field goals in a season, field goals in a career, steals in a season, steals in a career and rebounds in a season. Harris graduated and quickly joined the basketball staff as an assistant, a post she served in for more than six seasons. She also served as the FAU's head volleyball coach in 1994. Following FAU, Harris coached at Delaware State University, where she became heavily involved in community service work, and she now devotes much of her time to this work. Harris was a 2007 recipient of the National Child Labor Community Lewis Hine Award, and is the CEO/founder of Teens In Perspective, Inc., a leadership development program for teen girls. Harris received two bachelor degrees from FAU and two master's degrees one from DSU and the other from Bryn Mawr College.

Steve LeBrun is the first male golfer to be inducted into the class. LeBrun represented FAU from 1996-2000. LeBrun was instrumental in the program's success and rise in the Atlantic Sun Conference. The Florida native captured four intercollegiate tournaments and finished in the top-three 15 times. LeBrun was also the 2000 Atlantic Sun Conference Player of the Year while posting a stroke average of 71.80 as a senior. His stroke average ranked him No. 21 nationally. He also captured two collegiate sanctioned tournaments. Following his collegiate career, LeBrun began his professional golf career on the Montgomery Sport Tour. Since turning professional he has accumulated 16 victories on various tours and holds three Nationwide Tour scoring records. From 2004 to 2006, he maintained exempt status on the Nationwide Tour until an injury sidelined him. Since recovering from surgery he has won eight professional tournaments and continues to work towards PGA Tour status.

Todd Moser is the fourth representative of the baseball program to be inducted but is the first pitcher to join the Hall of Fame. Moser's 15-0 regular-season record his senior campaign was more than instrumental in the program tying a 22-year-old national record with 34-consecutive wins. FAU also earned the highest rank - No. 8 in the program's history and the history of the Atlantic Sun Conference with its 54-9 record. The lefty's record led the nation and his 2.34 ERA singled him out as one of the nation's best pitchers. Moser recorded 130 strikeouts in 103.2 innings pitched in his final collegiate campaign. He holds the FAU record for wins and for strikeouts in a single season. In his two-year career, Moser grabbed 22 victories for FAU. He earned TPX, Collegiate Baseball Insider and NCBWA All-American honors, was on the 1999 Super Team NCBWA Honorable Mention All-American honors and was on the ABCA All-Atlantic Region team. Moser was the 1999 A-Sun Pitcher of the Year, as well as FAU Athlete of the Year and was First Team All-Atlantic Sun. Moser set the tone for his collegiate career when he used just 36 pitches, through five innings, to capture his first collegiate victory. Following his senior season, Moser was drafted by the Florida Marlins. He climbed as high as double A with the Florida Marlins as well as the St. Louis Cardinals. He also has played professionally in Taiwan, Venezuela and the Dominican Republic.

The final inductee of the 2008 class is the first female to represent tennis. Martina Schmidt guided the women's tennis team back to national prominence with a 21-4 record in singles as a senior. She also posted an 18-4 record in doubles which propelled her and her partner to a No. 2 national ranking. Schmidt held a No. 5 national rank in singles. Both rankings earned Schmidt All-American honors, only the second tennis player to accomplish this feat. Schmidt, who played for FAU from 1989-92, guided the program to a Top-20 national ranking, despite the competing as an independent. She also was involved in community service and education, receiving her bachelor's, master's and doctorate degrees from FAU. Schmidt served as an assistant coach for the men's and women's tennis teams while working on her master's degree. Following her college career, Schmidt played on the WTA women's tennis tour reaching a world ranking of 410 and was also ranked in doubles. She currently teaches undergraduate and graduate finance at USF (St. Petersburg) since 2000. Schmidt received the USF St. Petersburg College Business Teaching Excellence Award in 2006.

Class of 2006: Laurence Bensimon (Swimming '08), Keith Foley (Baseball '83-'94), Yolanda Griffith (Basketball '92), Whitney Kraft (Tennis '81-'83), Noemi Lung (Swimming '90-'92), Nikki Myers (Softball '99-'02), Steve Traylor (Baseball Head Coach '81-'87).

Class of 2007: Oliver Agh (Swimming '95-'99), Craig Buchana (Basketball '93-'97), Cecillie Lundgreen (Golf '93-'97), Kim Pruitt (Volleyball '95-'98), Mike Ryan (Baseball '82-'84), 2003 Football Team

Class of 2008: Valene Harris (Basketball 1988-90), Steve LeBrun (Golf 1997-2000), Todd Moser (Baseball 1998-99), Martina Schmidt (Tennis 1989-92).