Skip to main content Skip to footer
Seniors Honored at Banquet

April 16, 2007

Florida Atlantic University honored nearly 70 seniors in the third annual athletic senior dinner Monday night. The athletic department also honored five underclassmen and 14 individuals inducted into the National Collegiate Athletic Honor Society.

The athletic department annually honors its seniors with a watch to commemorate their time as an Owl. Along with the senior awards, the athletic department handed out six awards to student-athletes in various categories, including Most Outstanding Athlete, Student Athlete of the Year, Sportsmanship Award, Outstanding Academic Performance, Community Service and "Owl"standing spirit.

The following are the honorees and a capsule of their accomplishments: Most Outstanding Athlete recognizes any student athlete, regardless of class, that had an outstanding season of competition. The most outstanding honorees were Ellie Weberg and Olivier Sajous

Ellie Weberg captured the department's top athletic honor for the second-consecutive year after earning All-America honors for the second time at the NCAA Championships. As a senior, Weberg placed seventh in the 100-yard breaststroke and eighth in the 200-yard breaststroke at the NCAA Championships. At the conference tournament, she was part of two winning relays, including the 200 medley relay that broke the school. Individually she won the 100 and 200 breaststroke. She will also represent the United State at the World University Games in Bangkok, Thailand in August.

Olivier Sajous left on Monday for the final matches of the year and will then move into the Sun Belt Conference Championship. As a freshman, Sajous holds a 26-4 record on the year as the no. 1 player on the men's tennis team. In dual match play he is 17-1 with his only loss at the hands to a top-50 ranked opponent. He has defeated all of his opponents in two sets, except one. Sajous has wins over the no. 71 and no. 63 ranked players in the country and held the highest ranking in FAU's program history at no. 63. Sajous is only the second player in FAU history to play in the ATP tournament in Delray.

Student-Athlete of the Year is a University sponsored award that recognizes an individual with a minimum 3.0 cumulative G.P.A. with a weight on athletic performance and community service. The 2007 honorees are Megan Coyne (women's soccer) and Ryan Kinsley (men's soccer).

Outstanding Academic Performance was earned by Chris Vinci (men's swimming) and Claudia Kecht (women's tennis). This award is given to the individual who holds the highest cumulative G.P.A. and professor evaluations.

Sportsmanship Award is earned by individuals who display character, leadership and sportsmanship on and off the playing field. Nello Faulk (football) received the honor on the men's side while Mandie Fishback (softball) captured the honor on the women's side.

Community Service is an honor that is earned by going above and beyond the typical requirements of the team and the department's efforts to reach out to the community. Annie Voyles (softball) spearheaded the departmental drive for the American Cancer Society and Chris Eberhart (baseball) coordinated the elementary school outreach that saw more than 50 student-athletes work with local fifth graders on athletic skills.

"Owl" standing Spirit Award is an award based on overall spirit for the FAU athletic teams by attendance at all sporting events. Jennifer Schwan (track and field/cross country) and Dewain Akerblom (football) were honored as the athletes who show the most school spirit.

Connect with Us



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago